Brief history of Tour de France (part 2)

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Tour de France is the world most famous cycling tournament and also the one that raise the most controversy. The most scandals are raising around diqualifications for cheating and doping, starting with the 12 cyclists were disqualified in 1904 race. Since then, there were cyclists being disqualified every season until the most recent very public disqualification of Lance Armstrong after his legendary 7 consecutive wins.
In morden day, Tour de France is made up of 21 daily stages with competitions in individual time trials, time limit stages, and classifications that cover mountain tracks, points, young riders, minors, and general that crowns the winner. The race distance is around 3,500 km, separated in 9 flat stages, 6 mountain stages, 5 hilly stages, 5 high-altitude finishes and 1 individual time-trial stage. This race was created and held in France since 1954 then start being held in the neighboring countries such as Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, United Kingdom and so on.

Prize for the winner has always been awarded by money although from 1976 to 1987 the first prize was an apartment offered by a sponsor; in 1988 and 1989, it was a car, an apartment, an art, and 500,000 francs. At the first year, the prize was 20,000 francs then has increased each year. Daily placings and final placings at the end of the race were also awarded. In 2009, the winner received EUR 450,000, while 21 stage winners, each won EUR 8,000. EUR 25,000 was awarded to the winners of the points classification and mountains classification, the young rider competition and he combativity got EUR 20,000 and the winner of the team classification received EUR 50 000.
Furthermore, the first rider over the Col du Galibier or the first rider over the highest col in the Tour is awarded with the Souvenir Henri Desgrange.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

About Author

Comments are closed.